Time Spent

Time spent begging you to pay my rent

Loves been lost in a second on my hand

Left right looking for a notice on the door

My darlings keep running out on me 

 

Time spent checking all the rails up ahead

Where the wicked wild rolling trains come in

All a sudden—

Ones coming— 

And took the life away from a friend

  

The old mans gone now fishing again

Living life like he doesn’t owe anything

Wars break, fires loose 

Like them lightning blues

Life’s been getting real hard on you 

 

Time spent begging you to pay my rent

Loves been lost in a second on my hand

Left right looking for a notice on the door

My darlings keep running out on me

 

She’s gone where whoever she might be

Another hooker tried to make a fool out of me

I spit my wine and throw my beer

On the road out in the clear 

Mom I’m coming back home just for you

 

Montreal Parry Sound and New Orleans

Call me down from the north Atlantic seas

West coast California girls

Texas penitentiary 

Playing all my Folsom prison blues 

 

Never satisfied with all the roses,

Seen but never touched like wild horses

Ill be free and ill be fine

When I’ve got you on my mind  

Looking for a chance to believe

 

Time spent begging you to pay my rent

Loves been lost in a second on my hand

Left right looking for a notice on the door

My darlings keep running out on me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This song was written to commemorate the loss of a friend who died on the road traveling across the country with Lewis Lake back in 1969.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

Leave a Reply

